Thoughts and News on High Visibility Packaging

WorldStar Packaging Awards 2015

The World Packaging Organisation’s WorldStar Packaging Awards 2015 are open for entries until 10 October 2014.

What are the judges looking for?
WorldStar judges consider protection and preservation of contents, ease of handling, filling, opening and closing; adequacy of information; sales appeal, graphic design, quality of production, economy of material and cost reduction; environment, ingenuity of construction, and adaption to local conditions (production, materials, market).

What are the categories?
There are eight categories: Beverages, Food, Electronics, Health & Beauty, Pharmaceutical & Medical, Household, Point of Sale and Other

Point of Sale?
The new Point of Sale Category recognises the best packaging in the end of aisle display in store units/counter display.

There are three special awards:
Winners of a WorldStar are also eligible to participate in the Sustainable Packaging Award, Marketing Award and President’s Award.

Are you eligible?
WorldStar Awards are presented only for packages that have already won recognition in either a regional or national competition in 2013–2014, normally organised by an Association, a member of WPO, including the Starpack Awards.

How much does it cost to enter?
The entry fee is €650 for the first entry, the fee for any additional packs is €500 each.

Dates to remember:

  • Entries close 10 October 2014
  • Judging begins during the week commencing 17November, 2014, in Sri Lanka
  • The 2015 WorldStar Awards ceremony will be held in May 2015, during Ipack-Ima, in Milan.

The WorldStar Packaging competition is in its 46th year. Last year, it attracted 249 entries from 35 countries around the world.